Return to Releases /

Varsity Blues
Label: Veritech Records
Released: 2002

Named after the film by the same name, this recording was a therapeutic release for me.

I chose the title way before I knew what it would come to mean to me. Varsity Blues describes the feelings I had adjusting as my career/life was moving up to the next level. Kinda like when a Varsity ballplayer is heading from high school to the collegiate level. You're leaving behind friends, family, and your neighborhood. The competition is more fierce. The level of play is heightened. You're traveling to new places with new people. Forming new friendships. Picking up new habits (alcohol, women etc...). Basically, going from thinking you got it all figured out to finding out you really don't know sh*t. And this was just my career, and at the same time my personal life was kicking my ass (check the title track for all the juicy details).

I moved from Tucson back to L.A. back to Tucson then back to L.A. I started having panic attacks. Ran through all types of medication (Zoloft, Paxil, Xanax etc...). Basically, I had a nervous breakdown and decided to record it for the benefit of myself and others who might be going through the same thing. Too often, emcee's play the Superthug Man of Steel role. I feel it is my responsibility to be as honest as humanly comfortable with my fanbase. I consider this project an "album" because it is a complete thought. Technically it is an EP, but it was all I had to say in that moment. Which once again leaves me unable to separate one song as my sole favorite.

Track Listing:
  1. Varsity Blues
  2. Belief's Blues
  3. County Blues
  4. Writer's Blues starring the Underbosses
  5. A Friend's Blues
  6. The Deepest Blue